About KTOY Program

  • Information about the Kansas Teacher of the Year program

    Thank you for your interest in nominating a teacher for the Kansas Teacher of the Year program. 

    The KTOY Award recognizes and utilizes representatives of excellent teaching in the elementary and secondary classrooms of the state.  Its mission is to build and utilize a network of exemplary teachers who are leaders in the improvement of schools, student performance, and the teaching profession.

    Nominations will open on Wednesday, December 1, 2021.

    Points of Pride: Unified School District 232 is an important and strong participant in the Kansas Teacher of the Year Program. The district is honored to have two Kansas Teachers of the Year - Mrs. Jeri Powers (2008) and Mr. Keil Hileman (2004). The school district also has 15 state finalists and 13 semifinalists represented in the program since 1998.

Logo for Kansas Teacher of the Year progam