Return to Headlines

City of De Soto identified as site for new Panasonic plant

USD 232 Community – 

We are writing to acknowledge the historic announcement of Panasonic identifying the City of De Soto as the location for its new electric vehicle battery facility. Kansas Governor Laura Kelly shared the news at a special event on Wednesday, July 13.


State of Kansas and Panasonic logo combinedThe Kansas Department of Commerce is projecting thousands of new jobs because of the $4 billion investment by Panasonic. The Governor said a new facility of this size is transformational, not only for Johnson County, but also for the entire state. 


Recognizing the economic growth that will impact our community, USD 232 has been and will continue to stay actively involved with city, county, state, and regional governments to plan for growth, properly and strategically. In fact, for the last three years, the Board of Education has made future planning part of its strategic goals. As an example, our Board of Education in April 2022 took steps to begin the process of purchasing land for future schools, located on 150 acres in the southern portion of our community.  


We are excited about potential connections for our students. The district will engage with Panasonic North America to identify innovative opportunities for students to participate and discover new career paths in the areas of advanced manufacturing, science, technology, engineering, and mathematics. This type of academic programming is well suited to our new Cedar Trails Exploration Center, located at the corner of 83rd Street and Mize Boulevard in Lenexa. 


Thank you for your continued support of our schools and our mission to prepare all USD 232 students for their future through excellent, innovative learning opportunities.  


Frank Harwood 
Superintendent of Schools 


USD 232 welcomes more than 7,400 students each day from the communities of De Soto, Shawnee, Lenexa, a portion of Olathe, and unincorporated areas of the county. Our district is comprised of 13 campuses across nearly 100 square miles in northwest Johnson County.