Return to Headlines

District teacher named finalist for Kansas Teacher of the Year

Clear Creek Elementary teacher named finalist for 2019 Kansas Teacher of the Year 

Kansas State Department of Education

Megan Clark OVERLAND PARK, KS — September 9th, 2018 — Megan Clark, an art teacher at Clear Creek Elementary School (Unified School District 232), and Whitney Morgan, an English language arts teacher at Wyandotte High School (Kansas City USD 500), were named Region 3 finalists for the 2019 Kansas Teacher of the Year award during a ceremony Sunday, Sept. 9, in Overland Park. This award recognizes excellent teaching in the elementary and secondary classrooms of the state.

As finalists for the Kansas Teacher of the Year distinction, Clark and Morgan each received a $2,000 cash award from Security Benefit, the major corporate partner for the Kansas Teacher of the Year program. In addition, they are each now eligible to be named Kansas Teacher of the Year, which will be announced during ceremonies in Wichita on Nov. 17.

Points of Pride: Unified School District 232 is an important and strong participant in the Kansas Teacher of the Year Program. The district is honored to have two Kansas Teachers of the Year - Mrs. Jeri Powers (2008) and Mr. Keil Hileman (2004). The school district also has 15 state finalists and 12 semifinalists represented in the program since 1998... more than any other school district in Kansas Congressional District Region Three.

Clark and Morgan were among six Teacher of the Year semifinalists from Region 3, which covers the third U.S. congressional district.  Other semifinalists were Christina “Christie” A. Williams, a fourth-grade teacher at Brougham Elementary School (Olathe USD 233); Julie M. Schlessman, a first-grade teacher at Midland Trail Elementary School (Turner USD 202); John Cisetti, a band teacher at Louisburg Middle and Louisburg High schools (Louisburg USD 416); and Dr. Alison Crane, a graphic design and digital imaging teacher at Blue Valley North High School (Blue Valley USD 229).  Each of the semifinalists received a red marble apple with a wooden base, compliments of The Master Teacher in Manhattan. This year, 114 educators across the state were nominated for the Kansas Teacher of the Year distinction.

Nominations are made in each of four regions in the state. The Kansas State Department of Education, sponsor of the Kansas Teacher of the Year program, appoints regional selection panels comprised of teachers, education administrators and higher education representatives to select semifinalists and finalists from each region.

Each panel selects six semifinalists — three elementary teachers and three secondary teachers. From those semifinalists, the panel in each region then selects one elementary finalist and one secondary finalist. The Kansas Teacher of the Year is selected from among the state’s eight regional finalists.

The mission of the Kansas Teacher of the Year program is to build and utilize a network of exemplary teachers who are leaders in the improvement of schools, student performance and the teaching profession.

The Kansas Teacher of the Year team, comprised of the Teacher of the Year and state finalists, serve as ambassadors for education in Kansas, making public appearances across the state promoting education and the teaching profession.

The individual selected as the Kansas Teacher of the Year is eligible for national distinction as National Teacher of the Year. The National Teacher of the Year program is a project of the Council of Chief State School Officers in partnership with the Voya Foundation.

For more information, please contact Anne Marie Bush, Communications Specialist for KSDE - Communications & Recognition Programs, (785) 296-7921;