Return to Headlines

Clear Creek Elementary named 2019 National Blue Ribbon School

Photo of two students working at their desks. Includes National Blue Ribbon 2019 logo. U.S. Secretary of Education Betsy DeVos recognized 362 schools on Thursday, September 26, 2019, as National Blue Ribbon Schools for 2019. The recognition is based on a school’s overall academic performance or progress in closing achievement gaps among student subgroups.

National Blue Ribbon School logo by US Department of Education 2019 Clear Creek Elementary in Shawnee, KS, is designated as an Exemplary High Performing School, among the highest performing schools in Kansas as measured by state assessments.

The coveted National Blue Ribbon Schools award affirms the hard work of educators, families and communities in creating safe and welcoming schools where students master challenging and engaging content. 

"This award is a testament to the staff, parents, and students at Clear Creek Elementary over a long period of time,” said Dr. Frank Harwood, Superintendent of USD 232. “The Blue Ribbon designation is the result of a consistent commitment to student learning by our teachers.” Principal of Clear Creek Elementary, Kelley Begley McCall, said, “We believe the award is recognition of excellence that has been building for years, thanks to the strong support of our parents and community and dedication of our staff.”

The one practice that encompasses Clear Creek’s success is the belief that All Kids Are Our Kids! This concept is the backbone behind every decision made for every learner. From the classroom setting, to when students arrive each morning, to the lunchroom-- it is important that every child who enters Clear Creek knows they can trust and turn to any adult in their learning environment.

Now in its 37th year, the National Blue Ribbon Schools Program has bestowed recognition on more than 9,000 schools. On November 14 and 15, the Secretary and the Department of Education will celebrate with 312 public and 50 non-public school honorees at an awards ceremony in Washington, D.C.

About the Program
Public schools are nominated by the Chief State School Officer in each state, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, the Department of Defense Education Activity (DoDEA) and the Bureau of Indian Education (BIE).

At least one-third of public schools nominated in each state must have student populations of at least 40-percent students from disadvantaged backgrounds. All public schools must also meet their state’s annual measurable performance targets.

The Council for American Private Education (CAPE) nominates non-public schools, including parochial and independent schools. A total of 421 schools nationwide may be nominated, with state allocations determined by the number of K-12 students and schools in each jurisdiction, ranging from a minimum of three schools to a maximum of 35. CAPE may nominate up to 50 non-public schools.

The Department recognizes all schools in one of two performance categories, based on all student scores, student subgroup scores and graduation rates: 

  • Exemplary High Performing Schools are among their state’s highest performing schools as measured by state assessments or nationally normed tests.
  • Exemplary Achievement Gap Closing Schools are among their state’s highest performing schools in closing achievement gaps between a school’s student groups and all students.

Information about the 2019 National Blue Ribbon Schools is available at

# # #