Return to Headlines

MVHS Journalism Department named 6A State Champions

MVHS KSPA Winner 2020 Congratulations to the Mill Valley Journalism Department for winning the 6A state journalism title on Saturday, May 2. This is their sixth state title in 10 years and the first in the 6A Division. The MVHS team of student journalists scored a total of 48 points to secure their first place spot followed by Shawnee Mission East with 38 points and Blue Valley Northwest with 32 points.

The state journalism contest, held by the Kansas Scholastic Press Association, proved to be challenging amid the school closures. KSPA quickly adjusted and held their first ever digital state contest with students submitting their entries online then judged virtually by professionals from across the country.

Senior Avery Liby won first place in the online photo gallery category and senior Tatum Elliott won state titles on newspaper design and infographics design. Seniors Annie Bogart and Tatum Elliott along with juniors Anna Owsley and Ben Wieland also won first place in the multimedia reporting category.

Junior Ben Wieland placed in all five categories entered and scored a state-high 13 points individually and an additional 9 points in the team categories.

All four of Mill Valley High School’s journalism groups, which include JagWire Magazine, 2019 JAG Yearbook, Mill Valley News Online and MVTV each earned All-Kansas rankings, the only school in the state to do so.

In addition to the state title, several student journalists placed in the state contest:


  • Tatum Elliott: newspaper design & infographics design
  • Avery Liby: online photo gallery
  • Ben Wieland: sports writing
  • Annie Bogart, Tatum Elliott, Anna Owsley & Ben Wieland: multimedia storytelling

2nd PLACE:

  • Abby White: online photo gallery
  • Abby White & Grace McLeod: yearbook theme design
  • Ben Wieland: film review
  • Sophie Lecuru: newspaper design

4th PLACE:

  • Anna Owsley & Ben Wieland: social media reporting
  • Hannah Chern: headline writing/design
  • Abby White: yearbook design

5th PLACE:

  • Ben Wieland: editorial writing

Also participating at state: Aiden Burke, Sammie Volkamer, Anna Rold, Livi Soell, Allison Gourd, Taylir Charest, Steven Curto & Andrew Tow

For more about Mill Valley High School’s state championship title in journalism, read more from Mill Valley News Online. The official results for the Kansas Scholastic Press Association state journalism contest are posted here.