Return to Headlines

USD 232 Seniors Recognized as Shooting Star Finalists

Three USD 232 Seniors were recognized as finalists in the Shooting Stars Scholarship Program, sponsored by the Arts Council of Johnson County.

2020 Shooting Stars Scholarship Recipients:

  • Kalie Hopkins, De Soto High School – 1st place, Literature
  • Anna Paden, Mill Valley High School - 1st  place, Theatre Performance
  • Ashlen Boresow, De Soto High School - 2nd place, Theatre Performance

As part of this annual program, nine first place scholarships of $1,400 each, nine second place scholarships of $700 each and nine teacher honorariums* of $350 each are awarded each spring (*to the nominating teacher of the first place scholarship recipient).

The Shooting Star Scholarships & Awards Program was created in 1997 and has awarded over $400,000 in college scholarships and $65,000 in teacher honorariums. So far, this program has recognized over 1,000 high school seniors in the Johnson County area for their artistic excellence and achievements.

To learn more about the Shooting Stars Scholarship Program, visit 2020 Shooting Stars.