Return to Headlines

Kansas Teacher of the Year Nominees

Congratulations to both Melissa Hembrey of Riverview Elementary School for being named a 2022 Kansas Teacher of the Year semifinalist and to Amanda Sweet of De Soto High School for being nominated for the Kansas Teacher of the Year distinction. This award recognizes and utilizes representatives of excellent teaching in the elementary and secondary classrooms of the state.

USD 232 is an important and strong participant in the state’s teacher recognition program. The district is honored to have two Kansas Teachers of the Year, along with 15 state finalists and 13 semifinalists represented in the program since the year 2000 – more than any other school district in region three.

The mission of Kansas Teacher of the Year Award Program is to build and utilize a network of exemplary teachers who are leaders in the improvement of schools, student performance, and the teaching profession.

Hembrey Headshot Hembrey is a first grade teacher at Riverview Elementary. She joined USD 232Sweet Headshot in August of 2001 and has spent all 19 of her years in education teaching for our district. She has also served as a new teacher mentor for the past several years. 

Sweet has taught English Language Arts at De Soto High School since August 2006. This is her 15th year in education, all here in USD 232, and also serves as the Assistant Forensics and Debate Coach at DHS.