Return to Headlines

Commended students in 2023 National Merit Scholarship Program

Six high school seniors in USD 232 were named Commended Students in the 2023 National Merit Scholarship Program. A letter of commendation from the school and the National Merit Scholarship Corporation, which conducts the program, will be presented by the principals to these scholastically talented seniors.

  • Alex Boresow, De Soto High School
  • Josh Fullmer, De Soto High School
  • Dalton Gabbert, Mill Valley High School
  • Sarah Johnston, Mill Valley High School
  • Abhilasa Raut, Mill Valley High School
  • Elizabeth Strathman, Mill Valley High School

About 34,000 Commended Students throughout the nation are being recognized for their exceptional academic promise. Although they will not continue in the 2023 competition for National Merit Scholarship awards, Commended Students placed among the top 50,000 students who entered the 2023 competition by taking the 2021 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT). 

According to NMSC, those being named Commended Students have demonstrated outstanding potential for academic success. They represent a valuable national resource; recognizing their accomplishments, as well as the key role their schools play in their academic development, is vital to the advancement of educational excellence in our nation. We hope that this recognition will help broaden their educational opportunities and encourage them as they continue their pursuit of academic success.

# # # #