Return to Headlines

2023 Student Art Award Winners recognized by Board of Education

Students from each school received an outstanding honor from the Board of Education and were recognized at the board meeting on November 6, 2023. Their artwork was selected to be on permanent display at the Administration Offices in De Soto. 

District art teachers selected original works of art, created the previous school year, from among their students to become part of the permanent collection. The following students received creative achievement awards:

2023 Art Award Winners

Lucille Heillman - Belmont Elementary

Khia Ontiveros - Clear Creek Elementary

Isaac Hilker - Horizon Elementary

Brookson Cotton - Mize Elementary

Maya Rutkowski  - Prairie Ridge Elementary

Vivienne LaHaie - Riverview Elementary

Kimberly Ortiz Garcia - Starside Elementary

Hudson Davis  - Lexington Trails Middle School

Natnael Vega - Mill Creek Middle School

Elena Williams-Medlock - Monticello Trails Middle School

Julie Steeb - De Soto High School

Taylor Smith - Mill Valley High School

2023 Student Art Recognition
Students (holding artwork) from left: Lucille Heillman, Natnael Vega, Maya Rutkowski, Vivienne LaHaie, Isaac Hiker, Brookson Cotton, Elena Williams-Medlock 
Staff (back row): Pam Hargrove, Belmont Principal; Lisa D'Andrea, MCMS Art Teacher; Megan Clark, CCE Art Teacher; Taylor Newman, PRE Art Teacher; Nancy Roberts, LTMS Art Teacher; Genevieve Brown, Horizon Art Teacher; Elizabeth Purcell, RE Art Teacher; Mikki Gotham, DHS Art Teacher; Shelly Souders, Mize Art Teacher; Wendy Ping, MTMS Art Teacher
Not pictured:Kimberly Ortiz Garcia, Hudson Davis, Khia Ontiveros, Julie Steeb, Taylor Smith