Return to Headlines

MVHS Journalism Department named 6A State Champions

MVHS 2023 KSPA 6A State Champions
Congratulations to the Mill Valley Journalism Department becoming the Kansas Scholastic Press Association State Journalism 6A Champions on Saturday, May 6. The MV Jaguar Journalism Team scored a total of 87 points to secure their first place spot followed by Blue Valley Northwest High School that came in second with 84 points. The competing team was comprised of students from JagWire Magazine, JAG Yearbook, and MVTV.

The MV Journalism Team also had several individual state champions as well, which include:

  • Senior Gabby Delpleash won first place in Sports Writing.
  • Junior Emma Clement and Delpleash placed first and second place, consecutively, in the Headline Writing and Design contest.  
  • Delpleash, Clement, junior Julia Shumaker, and sophomore, Maggie Wieland, won first place in the Multimedia Storytelling category.
  • Sophomores Emma Ronning and Audri Brizendine placed first in Yearbook Theme and Graphics.
  • Senior Avery Gathright took first place in Copy Editing.

The official results for the 2023 KSPA Kansas State Contest are posted on the KSPA website.