Return to Headlines

District team named Battle of the Brains Top 20 finalist

DHS Battle of the Brains

Congratulations to the De Soto High School Voyagers who are a Top 20 Finalist for the Battle of the Brains competition! On Thursday, December 7, the Burns & McDonnell “Battle Bus” team surprised the Voyager students at De Soto High School with the news of this accomplishment.

STEM professionals from Burns & McDonnell and Science City selected De Soto High School’s “The Green Zone” project as one of the Top 20 Finalists. Nearly 740 teams across the Greater Kansas City area submitted proposals for various interactive, unique educational platforms with a STEM (science, technology, engineering and math) focus to this year’s competition. Each top 20 Finalist Team is guaranteed to win a piece of over $155,000 in grant money for the school to use toward STEM initiatives.

“The Green Zone”  is centered around the hidden world of plants. Their exhibit proposal includes interactive displays for individuals to learn more about photosynthesis, root systems, parts of a plant and more. The team of students at De Soto High School brought unparalleled dedication to develop their project idea and organized times outside of the school day to collaborate and pull all of the details of the final project together.

The twenty teams selected will now advance toward the grand prize award of a $50,000 grant for STEM initiatives and have opportunity to work with Burns & McDonnell and Science City professionals to bring their exhibit proposal to life as a permanent exhibit at Science City. The winning Battle of the Brains project will be revealed at a special awards ceremony on January 23 at Union Station.

Congratulations to the De Soto High School Voyagers team!

  • Aurora Straight  
  • Cael Province
  • Chloe Yamaashi
  • Dane Newland
  • Evan Brame
  • Fox Farley
  • Gipson Daise
  • Griffin Marschall
  • Josiah Bunselmeyer
  • Leah Marovec
  • Logan Fixsen
  • Micah Morozov
  • Norah Kelly
  • Educators: Elizabeth Crainshaw and Susan Wilcox