Return to Headlines

Four DHS students named Shooting Stars Finalists

The Arts Council of Johnson County is recognizing 100 local high school seniors from over 20 different high schools in their Shooting Stars Program. Four students from De Soto High School are among this year’s group of finalists.

Presented by The Arts Council of Johnson County, the Shooting Stars Program celebrates young artists and arts educators for their artistic excellence and contributions to their community. Nominated by their high school arts teachers, each student finalist audition or submit a portfolio of work for review by independent judges. All nominees are recognized at the Shooting Stars Gala on April 2 where the scholarship recipients will be announced. Nine first place scholarships of $1,400 each and nine second place scholarships of $700 each will be awarded. The nominating teacher for each first place scholarship recipient also receives an honorarium of $300 each.

The Arts Council of Johnson County enhances the quality of life in the community by strengthening the arts. Since 1997, the Shooting Stars Program has recognized over 1,000 high school seniors and awarded over $200,000 in college scholarships and almost $65,000 in teacher honorariums. Complete list of the 2023 Shooting Start Finalists

DHS Shooting Stars Finalists 2023

Lee BarthSydney Bonnstetter

Lee Barth, Theatre Performance; Sydney Bonnstetter, Literature  

Emily MlodzikJulie Steeb

Emily Mlodzik, Voice Classical; Julie Steeb, 2D Visual Art