Return to Headlines

DHS Seniors named National Merit Scholarship Finalists

Seniors Elizabeth Schottler and Abigail Yarbrough, at De Soto High School advanced as Finalists in the 2021 National Merit Scholarship Program. This distinction places both students in the top one percent of all high school seniors in the country.

Each senior received a Certificate of Merit which was presented on behalf of the National Merit Scholarship Corporation by Principal Sam Ruff. Both students met all the requirements to advance to the Finalist standing in the competition. These requirements included their academic record, a list of school and community participation, SAT scores and a letter of recommendation from a high school official.

The selection of some 7,500 Merit Scholarship winners from the group of more than 15,000 Finalists is now in progress. All National Merit Scholarship winners will be announced the beginning of April 2021 and conclude in July 2021.

DHS Finalists

Pictured from left: Seniors Abigail Yarbourgh and Elizabeth Schottler